Autumn Leaves

My birthday is in September so I’ve always loved the autumn.

I know that for some the autumn brings in early dusk and wet days (we live in Glasgow so I’m well versed in wet days all year round) but I adore the smells of decaying leaves in the woods and the frost in the air early in the morning.

The song “Autumn Leaves” plays on my ipod the whole year around, with Nat King Cole serenading me around the park whether it is spring or fall.

I thought I’d design a necklace to feature some beautiful brown agate, to pay tribute to the leaves of the season. http://folksy.com/items/3562714-Adventurine-and-Brown-Agate-Necklace-Autumn-Leaves-

I do hope you sing this great song all afternoon.

“Autumn Leaves” by Johnny Mercer 1947

The falling leaves drift by my window
The autumn leaves of red and gold
I see your lips the summer kisses
The sunburned hands I used to hold

Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

The follow link will take you to you-tube to hear Nat King Cole sing in all his glory.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qOR13-M2rc

I’m off to Handmade Harbour to look at the other lovely blogs by some very clever crafty ladies. http://handmadeharbour.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/handmade-monday-82.html

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 10:29:24

    Thanks for popping by my blog….I do love Autumn, but this year it doesn’t feel like we had a summer so I feel robbed 😉
    Am loving the green in your necklace xx

    Reply

    • myturquoisequeen
      Sep 03, 2012 @ 12:41:55

      Hi Sarah, I do agree – here in Glasgow we had no summer to speak of, and the toddlers and I wore our winter boots to nursery this morning to splash in the puddles on the way there. Thank you for your lovely comments. Joanna x

      Reply

  2. Wendy
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 10:52:09

    I do love your Autumn inspired necklace but I’m not ready to embrace Autumn just yet – I’m hanging on (far too optimistically) for an Indian Summer! 🙂 Enjoy Handmade Monday x

    Reply

    • myturquoisequeen
      Sep 03, 2012 @ 12:43:01

      Hi Wendy, Good luck with your indian summer – we were married at the end of September, and that was a wonderful sunny day, so we are always lucky with the weather on Sept 23rd. But it doesn’t feel very summery today, sadly. Joanna x

      Reply

  3. claireabellemakes
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 12:34:31

    What a lovely necklace! I too love Autumn 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and also listing me in your favourite reads!

    Claire x

    Reply

  4. Caroline
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 13:24:59

    The colour of those leaves is stunning and the necklace is so right for this time of year. Funny how songs stick with us mine is Louis Armstrong We have all the time in the World

    Reply

  5. blackwillowblog
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 13:47:00

    I love Autumn too, in fact I’m hard pressed to make anything that doesn’t involve Autumnal colours. Beautiful necklaces by the way xx

    Reply

  6. Planet Penny
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 14:08:06

    Thank you for the link to the song, it was a real treat! It’s actually warm and sunny here today, what a shame I’m beavering away in the Planet Penny office!

    Reply

  7. Amiguruthi
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 17:42:15

    That’s goregous – as a fellow September baby I agree it represents this month/ season perfectly 🙂

    Reply

  8. Melanie
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 22:04:01

    I love Autumn too, I like cosy nights in front of the tv, and the chance we might get an Indian summer lol! I really like your necklace, I’m always drawn to greens x.

    Reply

  9. byhook
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 22:21:21

    I’m another Autumn lover, although the Southern Hemisphere version falls in April (my birthday month). We are heading into Spring now which is another favourite, despite the often torrential rain here in New Zealand. Daffodils are everywhere, the jasmine is out on the driveway… Bliss. I think it is important to enjoy the seasonal changes, and they do make for lovely inspiration for our crafts. The necklace is beautiful too by the way x

    Reply

  10. handbagsbyhelen
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 14:40:35

    Lovely autumnal colours. Have to confess i don’t know the song – but i’ll follow your link now and see if it can prompt my memory

    Reply

  11. CatkinJane
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 06:42:38

    I love the necklace, such beautiful colours.
    I’m an autumn fan, to me it’s like a second new year with resolutions and new impetus to get things done (probably programmed by the back to school message!!)
    And I’ve always loved Nat king Cole – may have to look out my CDs now x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

